Moonday - Cinema & audiovisual stories

Winners of the 2020 edition of the Viennale announced

Nov 2, 2020 10:30:19 AM / by Marie Mathieu

The winners of the 2020 edition of the Viennale were revealed yesterday evening.


Epicentro-9                                                                                        Epicentro by Hubert Sauper


Hubert Sauper’s Epicentro was crowned in Vienna with the Best Austrian Film Award. The documentary, produced by Groupe Deux, KGP Films and Little Magnet Films, focuses on Cuba and its resilient people a century after the explosion of the USS Maine in Havana. Mariusz Willczynski’s Polish animated film Kill It and Leave this Town (Zabij to i wyjedź z tego miasta), which had already won the Best Film Award in the official competition at the Festival de Cine Al Este Peru, was awarded the Viennale’s FIPRESCI Prize.


Austrian director Sandra Wollner’s controversial science fiction drama The Trouble with Being Born was awarded the Special Jury Prize. The story, which centers on the perverse relationship between an android child called Ellie and her human father, was produced by Panama Film (Austria) and co-produced by German production companies ZDF, The Barricades and Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg.


Yulene Olaizola’s Tragic Jungle (Selva Trágica) was awarded the Standard Readers' Jury Prize. The Mexican production was selected earlier this year in several festivals worldwide such as the New York Film Festival, the Venice International Film Festival and San Sebastian and won awards at the Warsaw Film Festival and Festival de Biarritz Amérique latine. Two documentaries were awarded the Erste Bank's ExtraVALUE Film Award : Austrian-French production Zaho Zay, by Maéva Ranaïvojaona and Georg Tiller and Please Hold the Line (Bitte Warten) by Pavel Cuzuioc.


Full list of winners below:


Best Austrian Film : Epicentro, directed by Hubert Sauper

Special Jury Prize : The Trouble with Being Born, directed by Sandra Wollner’s

FIPRESCI Prize : Kill It and Leave this Town, directed by Mariusz Willczynski

Standard Readers' Jury PrizeTragic Jungle, directed by Yulene Olaizola

Erste Bank's ExtraVALUE Film Award : Zaho Zay, directed by Maéva Ranaïvojaona and Georg Tiller & Please Hold the Line, directed by Pavel Cuzuioc


Go to to discover the Viennale’s full list of winners.

Written by Marie Mathieu

Subscribe to Email Updates

Recent Posts